In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunities to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development? You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

There has been plenty of tendency among students to study in a foreign country compared to the past. Earlier, people used to go to universities in their own country. This development brings several benefits and drawbacks. I will explore both aspects and give reasons with further explanations. As far as the advantages are concerned, studying abroad is a golden opportunity for people residing in developing countries to pursue their career goals. For example, I am planning to apply to an Australian university, which is ranked 40th worldwide. This great opportunity to continue my study in the doctoral program would change my attitudes and knowledge in research and my occupation. Furthermore, immigration to another land provides people with a new insight into multicultural aspects of life In other words, getting familiar with various cultures and customs results in behavioural maturity. On the other hand, there are some issues with leaving the home country. One problem is the homesickness that is common among those who have recently immigrated. I remember one of my friends, who won a scholarship for PhD at a prestigious university. At first, he was so upset about missing his family. But after a few months, he got used to living in Australia. Another disadvantage of attending universities in other countries is the difficulty in communicating with other individuals For instance, speaking and listening are two essential skills that everyone must consider when travelling abroad. Improving these skills may take a great amount of effect and time, though it worth. To conclude, many people decide to leave their families to follow their dreams and career goals. I think this is a significant turning point in a human's life, as he/she may encounter many ups and downs during this journey. It is predicted that approximately 30-50 per cent of Iranians will be migrating to other countries by the end of 2025 and this is an interesting development.