Many people believe that music is just a form of entertainment, whilst others believe that music has a much larger impact on society today. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Who doesn't like to listen to a melodious note every now and then? It is thus, believed by many that music is one of the most popular forms of entertainment while others opine that its role in society is much larger than providing just pleasure to ears. This essay will discuss both views in detail and provide evidence as to why it has more impact on influencing society. It is evident that music is the most popular form of entertainment. The tranquillizing properties of a sweet soft song can help relax people by creating a distraction from their hectic day-to-day life schedule. Most people prefer to listen to their radios or built-in stereo systems in their cars while commuting as a way of relaxation. To exemplify further, a recent US report shows that people who often listen to music are able to remain calm and are generally less arrogant. Hence, listening to a sweet note is a preferred form of amusement for humans due to its soothing impacts. However, one can argue that the implications of music are broader. Music is present everywhere. Whether be a DJ party, a rock concert or any sort of parade, they are incomplete without an appropriate tune to enhance the performance. Moreover, weddings, cultural events, and majorly the film industry depends largely on varieties of music today. For instance,in a country like India with cultural diversity, there are numerous songs in the form of prayers and chants that are crucial for the locals and are considered of great importance in the community. Thus, music has a vast impact on modern civilization in various ways. All in all, despite the music being a means of providing entertainment, its applications in society are much larger. Therefore, in my,opinion it should not be considered just any form of art but shall be given more importance as its impact on society is much more than we realize.