It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this opinion ? What sort punishments should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour for children?

Children are at such an age of their life when they merely distinguish between right and wrong. Teaching them when they are young was very necessary for parents and teachers. Punishment is required in some cases to complete this education. However, it should not affect a child negatively. By contrast, it must be constructive for them. I agree with this statement. This essay will discuss the benefits of this matter and provide some punishment method that is effective. When children did something wrong, parents should hear them out first about the story that makes it happen. Listening is important since various misbehaviour has a pattern. For instance, children might do bad behaviour every time they are jealous or unpleased. Teaching by giving reason and advice could make children understand why it is poor actions. In addition, it would prevent future misbehaviour. Therefore, punishing is might not be required in these cases. On the other hand, giving them consequences for doing actions is another way to teach them. For example, If a student plagiarizes an assignment, the teacher will give a failing grade. It could prevent students from future plagiarism. However, It is important that punishments should not be seen as intended to harm the children or express anger since it might lead to aggressive actions. Furthermore, punishment for the wrong action could balance with rewards for the right action. For example, teachers could be strict about giving bad marks for plagiarism while giving high marks for good research. To conclude, in some situations, punishment is necessary to complete the lesson. Giving children consequences of doing action could prevent students from misbehaviour. However, if parents or teachers could teach children by giving reason and advice, punishment might not require.