The continued rise in the world’s population is the greatest problem faced by humanity at the present time. What are the causes of this continued rise? Do you agree that it is the greatest problem faced by humanity?

The rise of the human population, an ongoing global concern, is caused by ineffective population control measures and advancements in the healthcare system. I agree that the steady rise of the population is the greatest threat to mankind in this era because of its major impact on the environment and the well-being of humans. Population growth is related to the effectiveness of birth control methods like family planning and adequate knowledge of reproductive health. An increase in the potency of birth control measures lowers the birth rates. In addition, newly invented technologies in the healthcare system have increased the life span of human beings resulting in decreased birth rates. For instance, many women prefer to use temporary contraceptive tools like pills, which are easy to use, but less efficient and that results in growing fertility rates. Furthermore, available treatments for many fatal diseases like cancer results in longer life spans. Since people can access their treatment easily with the current development in healthcare, it affects the survival rate of cancer survivors. In recent times, the greatest issue for humankind is the detrimental effect of rapid population growth on the environment and health. Overpopulation is the root of other serious issues such as environmental pollution and high unemployment. An increasing population demand for more housing development, employment and production that resulted in the destruction of verdant and fertile lands, which changes those areas into industrial areas and it leads to pollution and various health issues. In conclusion, overcrowded inhabitants are the greatest threat resulting from inefficient population control measures and limited knowledge on controlling as well as improvements in the healthcare facility leading to a longer life span. The subsequent impacts of this are becoming critical due to irreversible damage to the ecosystem.