Zoos are inhumane and pointless. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Zoos have been around for over a couple of decades, you either love them or loathe them. Recently, however, people have started questioning their quality of care and value. Personally, I feel zoos are pointless, cruel and ought to be phased out. Although, however, zoos have greatly improved in their infrastructure, the condition and climate the captive animals are kept are deplorable. Polar bear, for instance, travels several miles of ice daily and yet, in some tropical regions are kept in small pens with little pool of water for relief. In addition to this discomfort, zoo animals can suffer as a result of being kept with unfamiliar and unrelated cage-mates. Not to mention, the noisy crowds of people that visit the zoo. In terms of conservation, while zoos can assist in the preservation of endangered species, these efforts are ultimately futile. The Sumatran tiger, for example, being endangered species has been successfully bred, however, have been reared by humans captive population has lost its natural instinct to hunt, avoid humans and raise its young. Therefore, it will be impossible to re-introduce these creatures into the wild. Not only there is a loss of instinct but there is a loss of habitat to consider. Urbanisation, logging, industrialisation, and farming all contribute to the destruction of habitat. This means that even if the captive-bred population of pandas or tigers was ready to be released, there is, in fact, nowhere left for them to go. In conclusion, zoos may be able to keep the captive animals alive but their quality of life is poor and animals ' future prospects are bleak. Efforts should instead be made to preserve wilderness areas for the long-term survival of the species.