Some people consider art to be essential and others think it is not. Which view do you agree with and why? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Art has been around for many centuries and has sometimes been a central activity in society, and at other times been a secondary activity. It is heavily debated by some that art is of the utmost importance in life while others state that art should not play a significant role at all. In this essay, I will highlight both perspectives and share my opinion that art is important, but only becomes relevant after several other needs are fulfilled. Art is essential for many people, because it allows them to express themselves. Besides artists, who built a professional career out of art, also the general public is daily enjoying and creating art by dancing, singing and enjoying hobbies. As an illustration, we can consider an individual who listens to music daily, enjoys good television series during the weekdays and goes to see live comedy in the weekend, while going to a bar afterwards to dance all the stress away. Many people cannot imagine their lives without all these artful activities, thereby it can be concluded that art is essential for them. While art is a primary activity of many people in first -world countries, in third -world countries the population is occupied with other pasttimes past times. In many of these places the population struggles to find safety and to feed themselves. When offered the choice between safety and food, or enjoying the arts, they would choose the former. In order to survive they cannot prioritise art, and thereby it is not essential. In my opinion, art is a great way to express oneself. Although I wish that everybody in the world can enjoy the arts to the fullest, I think we have to be open for the perspective that artful activities only become important when certain other needs have been met. In conclusion, while art is important for some, when certain conditions are met, it is less important for others with competing priorities. I hope that in the future more and more people have their basic needs satisfied and can enjoy the arts.