Some people think that because of email, social media and telephones, communication among people is less personal now than it used to be. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Communication between people has never been faster or easier than it is now, thanks to the development of the internet. Some people, however, claim that despite these advancements, interaction is more superficial, and lacks genuine interaction. While I agree that this is true to some extent, I feel that advanced modern tools like email, social media and mobiles create wider networks and greater intimacy. Certainly, it has been argued that traditional methods of communicating had a more personal touch. Take an example of a handwritten letter or card. Traditionally to contact someone living overseas, we had to write a handwritten letter or card and go to the post office to buy a stamp and envelope to post it. It took weeks for this post to reach the receiver. Upon arrival, the person who opened the letter probably felt a greater level of connection than what a person opening an email or WhatsApp message would feel. Similarly, conversation over the phone as opposed to texting can be viewed as a more personal level of interaction. I would argue, however, that many of these views from the past are clouded by nostalgia rather than truth. Modern forms of communication, in contrast, show stronger connections between individuals. Nowadays, living abroad, we can maintain relations as if we were living under the same roof, this means interacting with others is easier, faster, and free. In fact, loved ones and friends can be in constant contact, regardless of their geographic proximity. In addition to this physical ability to keep in touch, there is the depth of intimacy that comes with sharing photos and stories on free platforms such as Instagram and Facebook. These tools enable us to have access to aspects of loved ones' lives that we never had before, for example now we can share major events, celebrations, and triumphs that strengthen our bonds and networks. In conclusion, communication has definitely changed dramatically in the last fifty years. Although some feel a sentimental yearning for the old days, I feel that modern devices and tools have enhanced the way we interact with each other.