In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Hard-working has always been considered a virtue to the point that some people give children the message that they will have everything they want if they try hard. This inspiration is both beneficial and harmful. On the one hand, children often become more ambitious and responsible for this belief. They tend to be raised as assiduous and studious adults. Subsequently, they probably set a big goal for their life and work hard to achieve that, because they are told this is possible. For example, a child who desires to become a famous painter will practice every day to progress instead of playing video games or just surfing the internet. This belief also helps them to grow responsibility due to the fact that they are in charge of whom they become. Therefore, prompting them to do their best to achieve what they want usually results in more success. On the other hand, that belief may results in the opposite side if they fail to acquire their will in contrast to hard work. There are situations in life where it does not matter how a person strives, he/she will not accomplish anything. Children who are told the other way may feel disappointed and lose their confidence in these cases. Consequently, depression will be inevitable. For instance, a child possibly quashes swimming if he/she cannot pass the test in spite of the hard work while there are abilities that are difficult for each person, regardless of desire and effort. In conclusion, telling children that everything is achievable if they work hard enough is a two-sided sword, and as a result, it is better to not overwhelm them with this inspiration.