Some species of animals are almost extinct; and many others seem to be fast approaching a similar risk. What are the reasons for this? What should be done to solve this problem?

Over the years, some types of wildlife are on the verge of becoming depleted while others are almost dying out. The two major causes for this trend are overexploitation of their natural habitats and illegal hunting. However, technology and regulations are possible solutions to this problem. Firstly, Human activity is a major cause of the destruction of habitats. Humans need land for the expansion of agricultural land and the building of houses. For this reason, degradation of national parks to pave way for construction infrastructure is inevitable despite contributing to the displacement of creatures and reducing the food available to survive, thus, increasing the risk of dying out. For instance, the world's largest bat migration has been affected after cutting down trees(natural habitats) to pave way for the construction of a road. Therefore, displacement of fauna. Nevertheless, to counteract this problem, The World wide fund for nature can help by instructing its member countries to set aside national reserves where human activities are prohibited. Secondly, poaching for selfish reasons is a major contributing factor. Some individuals believe in myths that creatures have medicinal, aphrodisiac and religious values. Thence, prompting them to acquire this scarce resource to satisfy heart desires. For example, an elephant tusk is believed to cure mental illness. Hence, the killing will contribute to the extinction of wildlife. On the other hand, tackling this problem requires both individual and government efforts. They can help in raising awareness against the killing of fauna for unproven reasons and encouraging poachers to seek professional help. By doing so, different species will be saved. To sum up, while degrading forests and illegal hunting negatively affect the animal Kingdom nonetheless, this can be reversed by creating national reserves and raising awareness.