Some people think that a sense of competition should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to cooperate rather than compete become more useful adults

Many individuals view competition as bad where rivalry and chaos transpire and therefore they believe that children should be taught to cooperate with one another rather than compete to be considered good. However, life is a game and for one to succeed, working in silence and self-determination are important attitudes to adopt in order to win. It is often said, "if you want to go fast, go alone, but if you want to go far, go together". Cooperation and team spirit are essential qualities in becoming successful and productive individuals in society today because no man is an island. Individuals need each other to share knowledge, skills and resources that could eventually birth life-changing discoveries. For example, in the workplace, ideas need to be exchanged for the growth of the organization. Although teamwork is highly effective in building young people to become successful, it is not the only characteristic of a productive person. Competition is an act of striving to win or survive by defeating someone else or establishing superiority. It does not always mean rivalry. Opposition provides a sense of living and encourages striving for higher achievements. For instance, the phrase "survival of the fittest" gotten from a biology theory came about as a result of the struggle for scarce resources. The 'fitter' specie survives while the 'weaker' opponent dies. In conclusion, competition and cooperation are not on two opposite ends of a pole. While some people believe that a cooperative spirit is more important than a competitive spirit, I strongly believe that the two qualities can be imbibed into young peoples' lives in order for them to achieve their fullest potential. It is possible for one to go far with the smallest time possible. Children should be taught to engage in healthy competitions where there's room for the exchange of ideas and growth of all members of the group.