Some people think that the best way to solve global environment problems is to increase the cost of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The world has been experiencing environmental issues including climate change. To solve these problems, some people argue that the prices of fuel should be higher while others suggest increasing the cost of fuel is not a solution. In this essay, I will discuss why raising the cost of fuel is not the most useful way. To begin with, when the oil becomes more expensive, nature would benefit. First of all, there will be reduced pollution. It is well-known that fossil fuels are the major contributors to environmental degradation. If the price of fuel gets higher, people would reduce the usage of fuel, thereby mitigating the harmful effects on the environment. Second of all, scientists would be encouraged to invent more sustainable technologies. For instance, governments would allocate more resources to research and technologies so that scientists could come up with environmental-friendly technologies. On the other hand, some issues can be caused by an increase in the cost of fuel. Firstly, living costs would also rise. There will be so many people struggling financially because they can not afford basic necessities such as grocery shopping as a result of spending most of their money on fuel. Secondly, societal progress would be delayed. Residents would try to cut down on traveling. Unless it is really necessary to travel, people would stay home and work at home, which will result in low productivity. To sum up, a rise in the cost of fuel would produce both beneficial and negative outcomes for people. However, given that detrimental implications take precedence over positive ramifications, I strongly believe that increasing the fuel cost would not be a good idea to limit the impacts of fuel.