It is more important to have a good family than to have friends. Family can always compensate for absence of friendship. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that a good family can quite easily replace the need for friends in one’s life. I strongly disagree with this opinion and think that friendship is an integral and unique part of an individual’s life journey. Firstly, the generation gap between parents and children can lead to a lack of communication between them. In other words, due to the significant age gap, most heir do not express their thoughts and emotions openly in the fear of being judged or misunderstood. For instance, it is easier for adolescents to share their emotions with someone who might be going through the same thing and can relate to them in ways parents cannot. Secondly, not having friends can have a negative impact on a person’s social skills and character. Furthermore, building friendships can help boost an individual’s confidence and self-esteem making it easier for them to socialize when they leave home for college or employment. For instance, looking at your circle of friends excelling in academics or sports can spark motivation and bring a mindset of healthy competition among children. Moreover, the upbringing of children usually brings with it tantrums, vague demands and stubbornness during which parents need to be strict and have a firm hand. On the contrary, the dynamic between friends is less rocky and provides space for children to be curious and explore certain aspects of their life and individuality. To conclude, while the family plays an important role in inculcating discipline and moral values, friendship has its own unique contribution in developing an individual’s personality and social skills. Therefore, I believe that friendship cannot be replaced by family.