Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

In actual work, people do not only use knowledge and hard skills for their job, but they also need other soft skills in order to complete their work. Therefore, it is argued that universities should not prepare their graduates with just only skills needed in the workplace. However, other knowledge such as teamwork skills and communication skills should also provide in universities. I think universities should teach soft skills. This essay will discuss the reason why other knowledge is important in the latter paragraph. Communication skill is one of the major abilities for work since the quality of communication in the workplace could eliminate unnecessary problems and promote better performance. Communication skill is not only about how to make the sender and receiver understand each other correctly but also includes speaking persuasively, speaking to be reliable, and speaking with confidence. Moreover, This skill is quite important,especially in people who work in the field of communication such as moderators, lawyers and salespeople since they need to communicate with others all the time. Additionally, Most of the time when people are in the workplace, they need to work with others or work as a team. For example, if you work with some big project, you would work with the various departments in the company in order to discuss each part to get the workflow and complete it before the deadline. Thus, teamwork skill is important to have in every employer. Universities could help students to gain those skills by giving a group project and making the students manage and communicate on their own. To conclude, universities should teach other skills to their student since there are indirectly skill in work. Communication skill and teamwork skill is the major ability for work since they could eliminate unnecessary problems and promote better performance.