In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is unfathomable to imagine life without fresh and clean water. Water pollution – caused by men – is a serious and prevalent issue, which not only causes the increase in death rate of marine life, but also creates scarcity of fresh water that leads to a global humanitarian crisis. Third -world countries like Africa, Afghanistan and Liberia do not have easy access to clean drinking water. Residents living in these countries have to collect water directly from creeks, rivers and lakes. During the summer season, especially in deserted areas, people have to travel afar to collect water from the well; and on some days, the well has already dried up by the time they reached there. As a result, family members passed away; children who have not yet fully lived their lives are deprived of the chance to reach their maximum potential. To resolve this global humanitarian crisis, government have to step up their roles and think of solutions to alleviate this problem. Firstly, government could partner with neighboring countries and do a trade exchange so that they could buy water at a cheaper rate. Secondly, government could build a water desalination plant where water can be reused and treated using reverse osmosis technology. Lastly, government could pass stricter bills and heavier fines for people who are caught polluting the waterbodies in the country. Implementing these measures would help alleviate the shortage of fresh water and more people would have ready access to pure and clean drinking water. In a nutshell, everyone has a role and responsibility to play in ensuring an unpolluted and clean environment. We have to learn to work with one another to make sure that human lives will not be compromised as a result of our irresponsible and ignorant actions and behaviours.