Some educationalists think that international exchange visits will benefit teenagers at the school. To what extent do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In today’s globalisation era where we live, plenty of countries offers school adolescents international exchange programs which are considered by some educational experts to be beneficial for teenagers. From my perspective, there are both benefits and challenges that this trend brings to school youngsters that will be outlined in this essay. On the one hand, nobody can deny that studying abroad has certain drawbacks. The first one is homesickness, that is to say, studying abroad, students might miss their parents and relatives. Another downside of studying at a foreign school is the language barrier. To be more precise, having difficulty communicating with other foreign students, the young people may feel fear and frustration. Culture shock is the other problem that students may have when they are exposed to unfamiliar culture and tradition. Consequently, all these problems may lead to the depression of teenagers, even unfortunately sometimes to their suicide. This is proven by the statistics which stated that a much more percentage of adolescents who are studying in international programs seek the assistance of psychologists owing to the above-mentioned mental issues. Hence, some downsides of studying at international schools should not be ignored. On the other hand, it is commonly accepted that there are huge advantages to such international educational visits. Because students can communicate face-to-face with foreign peers and with people around them, they may easily absorb foreign languages. Furthermore, their horizon will be widely broadened as a result of learning a new culture, tradition and history of the country where they study. Additionally, different styles of teaching and strategies of foreign pedagogues, especially of those who are from developed countries may bring productivity to the learning of students as a result of a deeper understanding of subjects. Last but not least, being from away their parents, school adolescents will have the opportunity to live independently which in turn, may make them more confident and independent. Take budget management skills as an example, this may be learnt by teenagers because they manage autonomously and carefully all their daily expenses. Therefore, the aforementioned programs have countless profits for the younger generation. In conclusion, exchange programs which are offered by overseas countries have both positives and negatives for the youth, but I believe the former far exceeds the latter. But it must be put into consideration that international school authorities should create a safe and effective learning environment for teenagers to decrease these drawbacks.