Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, many people choose to live abroad in a foreign country, where a foreign language is used. Not being able to communicate in your mother tongue can develop important social and practical issues. This essay agrees with that aspect because not being fluent it makes it hard to socialize with others and it is easy to make mistakes when you have not completely understant something. Communicating in a language different from your native, makes it hard to interact with other people. Human are social beings, therefore it is really reasonable to create friendships. However, people express themselves in another way speaking their language instead of using a foreign one, thus making friends from other nationalities is difficult to interact with them without misunderstandings. For example, being in a group of natives and you are the immigrant, they could tell a joke, or use some informal speaking phrases, they laugh and you should ask what is the joke about, or what it means. As a result, you make them tired of analysing and explaining casual, for them, things. The practical problems that might be caused might be even more serious. Living in another country means that you have to search for work, for home, etc. You will be facing every kind of contract, from buying a phone to signing for a mortage. Even if you may know the language at a really good level, mistakes could easily be made, especially when all the bullets of the contract are not fully understandable to you like a detail for taxes. In conclusion, speaking a foreign language can cause several social problems, like not making easily friend, and practical issues as well, such making serious mistakes on contracts. In my opinion, I totally agree that communicating in another language can suffer you many problems.