Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for the government to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste.

It is understandable that there are some people who insist it should be mandatory to recycle properly based on laws so that the rate of recycling could be increased. However, in the long run, as its drawbacks of it might dominate the advantages, it would be better not to make it legal. On one hand, once any recycling laws are set, obviously at first, many people will begin to recycle their waste not to be fined or punished by the government. For example, some countries where recycling is essential usually show higher percentages of recycling compared to other countries. On the other hand, there are some problems with setting recycling mandatory. To elaborate more, chances are, people would end up being obsessed with meeting the standard rather than truly participating in recycling. For instance, im my country, they usually keep the minimum guideline in recycling rather than studying it in detail, while being satisfied with the fact that they would not get any penalties. To avoid this, it would be better to make citizens have recycling education, aiming at enlighting the importance of recycling to them. The more they would be willing to help the environment by recycling, the more litter problems would be solved. To be more specific, when citizens implement their recycling voluntarily to organize their waste, it would be even easier for the cleaners and city environment managers to deal with the waste from houses. For example, when they throw out plastic pet bottles after peeling their labels, it is natural that the total time and cost would be cut down to handle those wastes. In conclusion, as there are more benefits of making it not legal for people, the government should motivate citizens to make them recycle of their own will.