More and more businesses as well as individuals are choosing to communicate either professionally or socially using technology rather than being face to face. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of using technology for communicating.

In recent years, it has become increasingly common for people to rely on online communication in both professional and social settings instead of physical interaction. Although this trend has certain drawbacks, I believe people gain many more benefits from keeping in contact with others via online platforms. On one hand, there are some downsides to using technology for communicating with colleagues and friends. When people choose to communicate online, they miss out on opportunities to strengthen their relationships with their co-workers. In other words, they will not be able to see each other’s body language, have a chat over coffee during breaks or go for a drink after work. Also, if office workers do not have the required skills to write emails such as language proficiency and appropriate layouts, they are likely to face miscommunication problems. In addition, when young people immerse themselves in their virtual world by talking to their online friends, they find it challenging to make new friends in the real world, which can lead to problems in their social life. On the other hand, it is undeniable that communication technology has enabled people to stay connected with one another in a convenient way. When business meetings and training sessions are conducted online, employees have the privilege to exchange their ideas from the comfort of their homes without having to waste their precious time commuting. This is particularly useful to the staff, who are working parents. Furthermore, social media platforms have provided individuals with more options to keep in touch with their loved ones irrespective of their physical location. To summarize, despite having some negative effects on people ’s social skills in real life, communication technology has helped people to communicate more easily regardless of the difference in location.