Some people believe that social media sites, such as Facebook or Twitter, have a negative impact on young people and their ability to form personal relationships. Others believe that these sites bring people together in a beneficial way.

Social media has become an important means of communication in these times. While many people believe it is harmful to the social development of the young community, others think it still has many benefits for them. In this essay, I will discuss some advantages and disadvantages of social media for young folk. Undoubtedly, the media is a useful tool that has improved social interaction worldwide. Even when people are staying on different continents, they can share their ideas very easily. Also, you can find updated scientific information using this platform. For instance, according to recent research, University students usually start their academic tasks by watching sites like YouTube instead of using conventional study methods like reading textbooks. Even if you are at home, you may be able to discuss almost any educational topic with other students in a very efficient way. During the lockdown period caused by the COVID-19 pandemic, video conferences were very helpful in maintaining academic courses. Unfortunately, this means of communication has several negative effects on young people. The increase in screen time used has affected their face to face conversation skills. In addition, you may not be able to tell what emotions others are feeling. Furthermore, bullying is the most dangerous issue that teenagers have to face using the media. Hurtful words from “haters” or “trolls” may lead to increases in the suicide rate in susceptible youths. Some investigations done in the United States showed that social media plays an important role in diminishing the social ability of young people to connect physically and emotionally with each other. Social media is increasingly more popular among young people. Therefore, they should be monitored by parents and schools to avoid the negative effects of this platform. The correct balance between the use of the media and conventional communication is the key to achieving positive results.