9. Some parents believe that children today spend too much time looking at screens. Others argue that this is necessary in the modern world. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The current generation of children is bound to get themselves exposed to digital devices such as mobile phones, tablets, personal computers and laptops more than their parents, as there's an inevitable need for them to stay ahead of the curve and to equip themselves to be well informed on many topics such as world events, learning, upskilling needs, education, leisure, social media consumption and gaming. Such exposure leads their father and mother to think that their kids spend way too much time looking at digital screens. First of all, we need to accept the fact that the world has changed rapidly in the past 10 years and conventional methods to consume informational knowledge are progressively getting outdated. Children prefer to educate themselves on the go, which saves time and access to information is almost immediate. They take informed decisions on their choice of academics, career, learning needs and what it takes for them to be unique in a highly competitive modern era. Platforms such as Youtube, Google Learn, Upskill, Coursera and Byjus, to name a few provide extensive learning courses that are accessible at the tap of a button/icon. The flexibility to access a course on both mobile & laptop helps them to continue the selected portions at their own pace. Parents also make use of the internet to find better coaches who can nurture their kids' extra-curricular interests such as music, dancing and various other art forms, through the numerous websites that offer such services. Amidst the pandemic that the world had to experience starting in 2020, the exposure to digital instruments has exponentially increased, as people were bounded to their residences. This is indeed concerning, as so much focus on such peripherals may invite health-related concerns over time. Some distressing impacts to health include eyesight related issues, back pain/shoulder pain due to ergonomic factors while accessing their devices and most importantly, psychological disorders due to overconsumption of unnecessary news and advertisements that are promoted through the abovesaid platforms. Thus, it is absolutely crucial for parents and children to mutually agree on scheduled screen hours every day and judiciously adhere to it. This will indeed be beneficial to both the parties and have less impact on their physical and emotional well being. In conclusion, usage of digital devices and exposure to screens is here to stay and if used wisely with appropriate discretion, one could reap tremendous benefits in their life.