Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

Nowadays, almost at every school, there are lessons of English language. Usually, English lessons take more important place there, than learning a local language. If there are not enough lessons of mother language, it can disappear. In this essay, I will give my own opinion about the importance of studying English. Also, the essay will discuss whether we have to save our languages, and in what way we could do it.  I am convinced that everyone should study English. It can give you lots of opportunities in life. You could freely travel the world, using the knowledge of the language, make new friends and share with each other your cultures and traditions. For instance, I have been studying English at school since the second grade. Now, I can fluently speak English. When I travel, I use this skill everywhere I go. I even have good friends from England and Denmark, with whom I love chatting and speaking. Therefore, studying English in school will help you to learn it faster and you will freely communicate with people around the world. However, the most significant lesson at school has to be learning a mother language. We should ensure that everyone in a specific area is taught their own language. If we do not know our language and we do not learn it, we can not be identified as a nation. Something has to be done to deal with this issue. For example, the school could make these lessons a priority, there should be more lessons for students. Teachers have to explain the importance of knowing it. In this way, children would be regularly taught the language and it would never disappear. To conclude, every person should be able to communicate in English, because it would help them a lot during their lifespan. But, we need to remember about our own language, because it is the first thing which makes us a nation.