The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to english becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

The ongoing development of tourism industry has resulted in the young generation learning English and it is being expected that this language become the universal language of the world in future. It is noteworthy to bear in mind that this phenomenon has its own two sides. The following essay will overlook its benefits and drawbacks. On one hand, speaking one language can bring different nationalities close together. Understanding is the most important part of relationships that plays an integral role in forming friendships. For instance, youngsters who are living in different continents with different mother tounges can communicate online in English and become friends. Moreover, by transferring knowledges and the rationales behind a cultural belief in a mutual language, the chance of misunderstanding decreases, which means better understanding about each other. Therefore, people around the world can communicate accurately and the global village will ensue. On the other hand, countries letracy have been establishing in their own languages, which are playing an integral role in saving countries' cultures. For example, Iranian culture is being taught at schools in the context of persian poems. In addition, the old generation is transferring their beliefs to the young generation by story tellings. Consequently, If this valuable subject gets destroyed, the main part of millions of cultures will get lost. To sum up, English being the main language of the world can bring advantages, but there will be an important problem with it two. The formation of a global village is located against the risk of cultural loss. I believe that this drawback can negate its benefit.