One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think advantages outweigh disadvantages?

Due to the advancement in health facilities, nowadays, people could live longer than people who live in the past. Therefore, the retired will be able to spend and enjoy the rest of their life. This situation would also create some issues for the government. However, I believe this trend has more benefits than disadvantages. To begin with, today, people could live until the age of 85 years or more. This means that they would have about fifteen to twenty years to enjoy their retirement time. Hence, they will have an opportunity to begin their own business with their retirement money. In addition, they will be able to spend their time with children or grandchildren or enjoy doing hobbies such as painting, gardening or even travelling around the world on a cruise. Therefore, people who could live longer and have a high life expectancy would be happier than people who live in the past. On the other hand, because there are so many people at these ages, this condition could be harmful to government programs. For example, they need to reallocate more money for taking care of these groups of the community who are potentially easy to get ill. Therefore, due to the limitation of resources, some important aspects such as road infrastructure, energy, clean water, and education would be affected. For example, the expenditure for this these sectors might be switched to public health. Thus, the other vital needed would not be able to contribute enormously to society due to the lack of funding from the government. To summarize, with the advancement of medical care, people today are more healthy and have a high life expectancy. Although, this trend could affect the government expenditure to take the old generation. I believe that this has more benefits than disadvantages.