In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

In many nations, some argue a large amount of money should be allocated to build new railway lines while others indicate improving the current public transport is a better option. In this essay, I will discuss both views and argue that constructing a transportation system is preferable. To begin with, constructing new tracks for very fast trains between cities entails both positive and negative outcomes. First of all, when fast tracks are finally built, the hours spent by commuters going to work from their place should be reduced and productivity would increase. For instance, they can work more effectively and take a better rest in lieu of spending their time meaninglessly on trains. In contrast, making new railway lines would require a plethora of money and time, which means governments should make a sacrifice for other public services such as public education. Similarly, renovating pre-existing public transport engenders both beneficial and detrimental implications. As opposed to creating new railway lines, it would not require as much time or money, which means governments need to spend money only on fixing or replacing some parts of railways. However, existing transportation systems will have to be replaced by new ones in the future as they will be obsolete and outdated. To replace old and malfunctioning tracks, a countless amount of money and time will be necessary. To sum up, both the construction of new railway lines and the renovation of existing transport systems bring about both benign and malign effects. However, given that the harmful effect caused by updating the current system outweighs the one by building new ones, I believe money should be allocated to build new railway lines.