Some people say that the only reason for learning foreign languages is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn foreign language. Discuss the both views and give your opinion.

Learning a foreign language has positive effects on different aspects of people ’s life. While some people believe that learning a foreign language is beneficial just for working or travelling abroad, others argue that there are further effective factors. Although travelling or finding a job is a strong argument, in my opinion, we can learn a foreign language for academic and business purposes. A huge number of people learn a new language to immigrate and get a new occupation in another country. They think that they would find more opportunities in developed nations. For example, a lot of Chinese learn English and go to the US, annually, hoping to find appropriate job offers. In addition, many people like to travel and see attractive places overseas. Therefore, they need an international means of communication. To illustrate, in Turkey which attracts thousands of tourists each year from different parts of the world, most visitors use English for taking a taxi or ordering food in restaurants. However, the above-mentioned arguments are not the only reasons for learning a foreign language. People choose to learn other languages to continue their education and for doing business. Nowadays, many prestigious colleges and universities present online courses and scientific sources in English, French or German. This means that students all over the world should be relatively familiar with one of these languages to get the most out of these scientific materials. Furthermore, commercial transactions between nations are increasing in the modern world and it is essential for the merchants to be able to communicate with the native language of countries for importing or exporting goods, especially in the case of distant countries. For instance, the huge annual trade of our country, Iran, with China was not possible without negotiations in Persian or Chinese. In conclusion, whereas going on trips or finding better job positions are of great importance in learning other languages, there are other reasons to begin studying a new language including commerce and education.