Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing ( for example, through cell phone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening). Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

The right to privacy is a topic that has been discussed for a long time in every aspect of an individual's life. Through technology, some opine that this right is being taken away by the governments by adhering to monitoring every activity that a person does, without them even realizing it. Through this essay, I would like to address the advantages and disadvantages of such a practice. Governments must monitor suspicious activity relating to the safety of the nation. This is done by cell phone tracking and placing security cameras at places where such activities are prone to happen. For instance, if there are people that disturb the harmony of a community by aggregating plans to do so, it is necessary to keep a check on such individuals and catch them red-handed. In addition, terrorist activities can only be stopped if the authorities know about the whereabouts of such people, without them knowing that they are being monitored as it would be effective because if these people know that they are being tracked, they would start destroying the evidence that would subsequently help in a proper judicial trial. Furthermore, installing security cameras at traffic signals is a good way to catch people that break the traffic laws, these cameras can send photographs of such individuals and make them pay the fine. However, if they knew they were being monitored, they would never break these laws in the first place. On the contrary, it is essential to adhere to monitoring people at appropriate places, and not where it is not an absolute necessity. For instance, installing security cameras in trial rooms in a mall is worthy of condemnation as it completely goes against moral values and destroys the right to privacy. Moreover, tracking an innocent individual would make him paranoid, so it is necessary to have evidence before anyone tries to intrude on somebody else's privacy. To sum up, the advantages of tracking through cell phones and security cameras is a healthy practice as long as people who are involved in doing so are noble and have moral ethics that adhere to the task at hand, and not merely gratifying their own personal perverted needs. It is essential to keep a check on people at only appropriate places, as the right to privacy is everybody's fundamental right.