Some people think that new houses should be built in the same style as older houses in the local area. Others disagree and say that local authorities should allow people to build houses in the styles of their own choice. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some individuals believe that new buildings should not be created in the style of old houses yet the owner’s style. Others argue that new and old residences should have the same shape to ensure city development consistency. In my opinion, housing regulation should depend on each particular location. On one hand, identical housing structures are suitable for places boosting cultural values or regions with special terrain. For example, Hoi An is a cultural heritage with identical old-fashioned houses. To preserve the beauty of the town, authorities just can allow citizens to build new houses following the existing architecture. Placing a modern MacDonald’s style restaurant in one of these areas would ruin general beauty and vibe. Besides, in areas with unique terrains such as low-lying areas or hilly towns, following housing regulation help the government in ensuring safety for citizens. On another hand, in this modern world, people’s desire to build a new house with up-to-date technology and style is understandable. A house is a private property so house owners should be allowed to decide its architecture. As a case in point, housing style reflects its owner’s personality, and living inside that house makes family members feel a sense of fulfillment or comfort. Moreover, introducing new flavors, unusual styles, and ideas to house construction creates a variety of architectural looks that lend visual interest to the living places. Finally, the need to build such houses also increases the value of architects, thereby stimulating their limitless creativity. In conclusion, both opinions are reasonable. Depending on particular areas, every homeowner could build a house to suit his tastes and preferences as long as following the housing regulation of that place.