Some believe that it is the responsibility of people to take care of the environment. Others say it is the government that should take care of the environment. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

According to some people, it is the individual’s obligation to care for the environment while others argue that the government is responsible for environmental protection. From my perspective, however, the combination between the state and citizens will definitely be the optimal approach in contributing to the environmental degradation reduction. On the one hand, the government's legislative authority enables it to establish legislation relating to the environment based on specific aims and compel individuals and organizations to comply. For instance, the government can enact restrictions prohibiting companies from using ecologically hazardous products. Since then, firms who breach regulations on purpose risk being punished or substantially taxed. Additionally, by utilizing the government's financial resources, we can address issues by investing in renewable energy. For example, substituting renewable energy sources such as solar energy for fossil fuels might result in a reduction in greenhouse gas emissions, therefore introducing a portion of sustainable environmental protection. On the other hand, we – resource users – must also have some responsibility for the protection of our living environment. The fact is that we are aware that the environment is deteriorating significantly, yet we are unconcerned, and the majority of us act as if everything is normal. We have been creating a throw-away culture for decades, and as an infectious disease, it has spread much too widespread among us. As a result, it has wreaked havoc on the ecosystem, including the great Pacific garbage patch. Therefore, each of us must join hand in safeguarding the environment, which is unquestionably the greatest and quickest option. For instance, we might classify rubbish to make recycling easier and avoid wasting energy to save our dwindling resources. “Time is running out. We must act together” - this serves as a wake-up call to the authorities and citizens. Local, national, and global actions are urgently needed to sustain this global asset as well as to protect the environment.