Today’s schools should teach their students how to survive financially in the world today. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

It is often argued that schools should prioritise teaching subjects that are more financially rewarding in life. In my opinion, I agree that educational institutions should definitely focus more on teaching skills that offer a better career, but doing too much of it could make life boring and tiresome at a young age. Firstly, one of the top leading factors of unemployment is poor career decisions made in early life. For example, recent studies have shown that more than half of the unemployed population is unable to get a job due to not having enough skills. Secondly, subjects similar to arts, history and music are really important social sciences but they do lead to a better career. Nowadays, it can clearly be seen as we see more and more people switching their careers to industries such as IT and Sales as the wages they were originally receiving were not enough to maintain a family. However, completely eliminating the courses which have the least value in terms of the financial rewards would make education very boring and tiresome. To give an example, too much focus on topics like computers, mathematics and economics would lead to a lot of stress as they are very mentally demanding. As a result, individuals could suffer from a lack of interest and mental health issues. Furthermore, this could lead to more people dropping out of schools and colleges which would have dire consequences on the overall economy and the health of the nation. In conclusion, I agree that schools should definitely focus more on upskilling the young generation to survive financially in the modern world. But we should remember not to change the education system in a way that has a negative effect on the mental health of the students.