Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies or interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Today, employers often ask people looking for jobs for personal information such as their favorite entertainment, the things they like in their free time and whether they are married or single,… Although some people believe that this information can be useful for employers, others including me would argue that this information should not be asked. One disadvantage of asking for personal information is when an employer is biased towards some people because of their religion or hometown. This cause injustice in the workplace and even cause a clash in religious beliefs. this in turn cause discouragement in workplace and can have effects on people ’s health. For example in my country, when I went to do a job interview, the interviewer asked me about my religion. Although I did not know the motive behind the question, since I had aminority minority religion I did not feel well. Some people think that asking for information could be useful for employers, as they understand the personality types of their future employees. As a result, they choose them in the sections that are matched with their personality. for example, if we ask for someone’s free time activities and they tell us that he like sports, we can recognize that they are quite active and suitable for a section that needs active personnel such as mechanical jobs. However, competence and being versatile are most important in the workplace. Furthermore, some people do not like to share their personal information with others and to prefer keep them secret. In conclusion, in my opinion, asking for personal information is likely to cause discouragement in workplace and in the workplace experience and competence come first.