Too much money is wasted on repairing old buildings that should be used to knock them down and build new ones. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Preservation of historic and notable property has sparked a heated debate. Some people argue that large sums of money are being spent on the restoration and up-keeping of such designs that could be effectively utilized on modern ones. However, I think that old buildings are crucial for our culture, heritage and economy and therefore deserve to be protected. Proponents of modern architecture pragmatically point out that the utility of a building should determine its priority. A case in point is Kuala Lumpur. It has been buffeted by the winds of economic change over the last five decades. Rapid economic development has left no room for the sentimentality of both pre and post-colonial landmarks. As a result, this former mining town has been translated into a town with modern and magnificent planning. Besides, the renovation or maintenance costs of this dilapidated ownership are far more than the costs to put up new buildings. It is therefore very commonplace for old equity that is in deplorable conditions to be knocked down to erect offices, hospitals, hotels, schools, and so forth. Nevertheless, the restoration of historic and famous goods and designs is quite important. First of all, the preservation of old ownership plays a profound role in cultivating pride in our heritage, culture, and past, making us unique among the nations of the world. For example, London is known for Big Ben around the world, and it would be unwise to knock it down. Secondly, old equity stimulates the economic prosperity of the town. To illustrate, when tourists flock to a city, new opportunities, like employment opportunities, will emerge as the economic climate improves. Last but not least, is the historic ownership of an asset to the metropolitan area. When a building is torn down, it is quite impossible to know what exactly is being demolished. For, many goods of a particular era could have been put up with materials for example heart pine or rare hardwood from old-growth forests that no longer exist. Thus, old properties have intrinsic value that should not be wasted. In conclusion, old goods should be restored as they are vitally important for a nation’s culture, heritage, economy, and so on. Therefore, the government should introduce a coherent policy to reap the considerable benefits of a more unified nation.