Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Children ’s upbringing has always been a significant issue for all parents. It is often argued by some people that children should be free in the choice of anything that affects them daily, while others believe that it makes an adult person who only thinks about their own aims. In my opinion, children must be allowed to choose parental controlled things. On the one hand, some people say that children should not be allowed to make choices even for food, clothes, and recreational activities. Because it causes them selfish streak and would be awful for their future and societies mentally and physically. For example, making mistakes in the choice of food may hurt their body and cause obesity. In addition, selfish behaviour in society would make problems in relationships. For instance, no one would not be able to rely on them and they will not be able to make deep relationships. On the other hand, participating in everyday choices is very important for children due to their learning and accepting the consequences. It could learn children to choose better options related to the results. Moreover, this would affect their future choices and make them more confident to make better decisions including education and career. I think it is vital for children to learn about correct choices and their consequences but all the choices must be controlled by their parents. Even they must be taught about their decisions and be deterred from wrong choices. In conclusion, although children ’s freedom in their choices of everyday matters may cause some problems in their future, they must be allowed to make decisions and see the consequences and learn decision making by parents’ control of their choices.