Some people argue that spending a lot of money holding birthday parties, wedding parties and other celebration is a waste of money. However, others believe such parties are important for individuals and for society. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In the current world, most people like to celebrate any special occasion by inviting a lot of people. The discussion that throwing too much money to hold parties like birthdays, marriage or any other special event is a debatable one, with strong logic provided by the supporters of both the views. A few argue that the special events need to be celebrated grandly, as it happens only a few times in a lifetime. For instance, marriage is considered to occur once in a lifetime and the people want to have the memory of that event until their last breath. This is possible only when the location is well decorated and all of the friends and the neighbours are invited. By spending limited money, it is almost impossible to achieve something special which will be remembered forever. Thus it is obvious, why some people incline toward this point of view. On the other hand, some people believe that it is not right to spend a huge amount of money on personal celebrations as there are a lot of people across the globe under starvation. For example, in most African countries, many people do not even have food to eat for a single meal a day. In case, the money spent on the celebration can be sent to the people who are really in need, definitely, a lot of life can be saved. Hence, it is clear why a few individuals refute high spending parties. Considering the memories of special occasions as well as starvation, spending much money on parties has been supported and refuted by many. Even though memories of some special events are important, saving human life from starvation is more important. Hence, in my opinion, it is necessary to cut down the spending on parties and spend that money on the poor people ’s food.