In the past, most people worked for small businesses, while more people now work for large businesses. What are the advantages and disadvantages of working for large businesses?

People currently prefer to work in the big companies rather than in the small ones which are more preferable when in the past. The benefit of working in the big companies are high salaries and the career development they provide. However, the drawbacks are the high competitiveness in developing a career in well-established businesses and the companies are less innovative. Big firms mostly provide high salaries for their employee. Besides, most of them give additional income such as positional allowance, living cost allowance and others. Furthermore, large institutions commonly have a clear career path which provides large opportunities for their employee in developing their career until they are retired. The companies have a standard organizational structure that very rarely changed. For example, Coca Cola company is a multinational big company that provide high salary for new entry employee compared to a start-up firm in the US. However, working in big companies mostly faces a highly competitive working environment. The companies have a big number of employees and they have to compete with each other to get promoted to a higher-level position. Another disadvantage is the big companies mostly have less innovative programs. They have a standard and rigid regulation in all aspects including workflow process, product program, and structure. For example, Citibank as the one big banks in the US has fewer digital banking products compared to other small banks in the US. In conclusion, working for the big companies mostly provided with high income and get the opportunities to develop a career until retirement. However, the drawbacks are the competitiveness between the employees and the rare adoption of new programs for innovation.