Some people believe that school molds the intellect and skills and not the virtues and attitudes of its students. Do you agree or disagree? Give examples based on your own knowledge and experience.

I totally disagree with the notion that schools have no effect on the virtues and beliefs of students but that they instead simply shape the intellectual and skill sets of people. To adopt such a position flies in the face of the reality of the cultures that shape us and in which schools function. A student who enters the educational system in this country is almost inevitably going to be shaped by the traditional and conservative Catholic beliefs that are so dominant here. This is true, particularly at primary and secondary school. Furthermore, even if studying at a non-sectarian public university after this indoctrination and value-formation period, beliefs and attitudes are largely well- formed by then and carried into the tertiary system. These values are simply reinforced and hardened by sectarian universities and private institutions that are overwhelmingly Catholic. Moreover, even granted that academy are, in theory, focused on the development of intellect and skills, critical, creative thinking skills, although supposedly at the center of learning, are sadly lacking or entirely absent when issues of religion or morality are discussed. Dissent is punished and conformity is rewarded. In this way, the attitudes of society are at war with and supersede, the need to encourage the intellect. Schools then act as a kind of lobotomizing agent, crushing free thinking and initiative. In my own experience, I have witnessed the opposition of the church to reproductive health and the right of women to control this. Although I accept that the church has the right to object, I find their opposition within the education system and their attempts to brow- beat students, objectionably, given the separation of Church and State under the 1987 Constitution. I believe it is a woman’s right to choose and I defend my right to think so. I therefore completely and unequivocally reject the idea that values and attitudes are not influenced at school and that intellect and skill is the all that is passed on. On the contrary, I believe that value formation trumps skills and we must be conscious of this fact.