People who live in large cities face a range of problems in their daily life. What are the main problems people in cities face, and how can these problems be tackled?

Urbanization has long been associated with human development and progress. However, people in cities must deal with several problems daily. This essay will argue about some of these issues and bring forward possible solutions to address them. Big cities have become a breeding ground for stress and illness. Some of the problems that people have to face day by day are pollution, congested traffic, crowding, unaffordable housing and a high risk of communicable diseases. For instance, during COVID 19 pandemic overcrowded cities like New York and London have been more affected than small towns. In terms of health low quality of water and a lack of hygienic conditions are very common to be found in developing countries. Therefore, outbreaks of food-borne diseases are very often in overcrowded places. Besides, air pollution in cosmopolitan cities such as Mexico or Sao Paulo has been related to the increasing incidence of lung cancer and other respiratory diseases. Congested traffic associated with a lack of urban infrastructure may lead to an increase in the risk of accidents. Living in metropolitan areas around the world is being considered a very big challenge for populations and governments. One of the most important researcher’s advice is to decrease the immigration flow from rural areas. The farms should be provided with financial resources to encourage people to stay there. Government must implement policies to boost the economy and thereby improve the infrastructure in big cities. These measures might be also the solution to problems like congested traffic, crowding and pollution. Finally, environmental laws should be able to protect cities and foster a healthy lifestyle. In conclusion, the urban population have been growing during the last decades and society has had to face multiples problems. Most of them might be tackled by providing effective policies by the government to achieve progress and a great life standard.