Some systems require students to specialize in a limited range of subjects from the age of fifteen. Other systems require students to study a wide range of subjects until they leave school. What are the benefits of these two education systems and which is better?

In some high schools, students are demanded to study a range of specific related subjects after a certain grade. On the other hand, other schools don' t regard this as a necessity and students study the same general subjects without the need to specialize later on.There are plenty of reasons to support and criticize both systems. I will discuss both views and provide my opinion towards the end of my essay. The main reason why some schools require a general area of studies is to make sure that when a student graduates he or she is knowledgeable in all subjects and therefore is better prepared for higher education. However, what this system lacks is practicality; general knowledge of a wide array of topics isn' t going to get you far in life. Being well-informed isn' t gonna benefit you in the future unless you specialize in a college or a university. The latter system provides a solution to this problem. Instead of studying the same subjects in your last couple of years acquiring higher knowledge which is most likely not in the least beneficial later on, students can enrol in specific areas of study. This is very helpful since students will be more prepared and familiar especially if they decide to enrol in a college or university. A common argument brought against this system is the lack of other aspects of knowledge if a student ignores other subjects at an early age. This is true but not the case here since 2 or 3 years won' t largely affect someone's general knowledge. In conclusion, both systems have their pros and cons,but,in my opinion,a system with a more limited range of subjects at a higher grade is definitely better at preparing students for life.