An increasing number of people are now using the internet to meet new people and socialise. Some people think that this has brought people closer together while other things people are becoming more isolated. Discuss both views and give you opinion.

Currently, the world today is digitalised. Various people subscribe to social media to connect and interact globally with persons of different class, race, gender, culture and customs. Although, a few persons believe this technology separates individuals from reality. In my opinion, in as much as the internet, creates a platform for socialising, it is imperative for a balance between the physical and online life. In this essay, each views will be considered. In general, the cyberspace accords individuals leverage on a variety of platforms. Such as, Facebook, Twitter, linkedin Linkedin, YouTube, Instagram, Pinterest, electronic messaging, just to mention a few. Connecting wit familiar and unfamiliar persons on this online handles is simplified. Most people develop affections and likeness chatting with strangers. Subsequently, couples are joined in matrimony, meeting themselves on a dating site. Someone lacking self esteem in the real world, can brace up to communicate with others. Additionally, diverse groups are established made up of distinct characteristics and personality for like-minds. Globalisation has become possible. Businesses can be transacted from anywhere as distance is no longer a barrier. For instance, shoppers need not visit stores in person, but can place orders for goods and services. Education is acquired through this means. Furthermore, computers, laptops, tablets and smartphones are man's best friend at the moment. However, with this trend, somehow, people get disconnected and distracted from the real world. This is so because, they build a fictitious existence on these social networking forgetting their responsibilities, respectively to the actual world. The usual day to day outings with family and friends has drastically declined. Face to Face contacts, which is the basis for forming relationships and partnerships is gradually being replaced with social media acquaintanceship. This in turn, leads some people to oblivion. For example, studies has shown that isolating oneself may lead to depression. In other words, victims suffering from depression, rarely communicate their problems to people, instead they find solace on the net. Likewise, conversation within family members are limited, family ties are fading by the day as more and more humans are withdrawn to themselves but clinging tightly to online presence. Thereby neglecting community social obligations. Not contributing positively to the growth and development of the society. With this in mind, having a balanced life online and real life is healthier for everyone. Conclusively, information and communication technology usage cannot be overemphasised. Respectively the natural world cannot be pushed aside. Therefore, it is crucial to have a steady lifestyle.