People's shopping habits depend more on the age group they belong to than other factors. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are a number of factors that can affect people ’s consumption habits such as age, financial conditions and gender differences. Therefore, from my point of view, age is simply one of them. It is undeniable that age does hasve a profound impact on what people consume. People in their different stages of life have various concepts including value concept and consumption concept. Generally, the elderly usually don’t shop for fun, but just for some daily necessities. By comparison, the younger tend to enjoy the fun of shopping and buy many newfangled gadgets which may actually be quite useless. Moreover, the pattern of consumption also varies from people to people of different ages. For instance, the elderly are more likely to go to some warehouse stores due to the slow-paced living style, in comparison to younger generation, who may tend to choose some more efficient ways like delivery. Apart from the age, there are many other factors that contribute to the shopping habits. Financial conditions is, undoubtedly, a crucial one. For the rich, luxury items might be part of their daily consumption, while for people who are not that well off these staff are not affordable. Also, gender should be considered. Typically, the men do not make as many comparisons as the women do before making the final decisions, especially in some occasions like choosing clothes which may be deemed as torment for some people. To sum up, I believe that age is an important factor that affects one’s shopping pattern, but not the only one. Many other aspects can also have a strong impact as well.