With the improvements in today’s health care, society has to care for more and more elderly people. Do you feel that society will be able to cope with the increase in numbers of elderly people today and how can it be managed? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

There is a debate that the health care equity for old people may result in the overpopulation of this age category. I believe that society will encounter many problems in the future. I will explore the potential issues and give appropriate solutions with further explanations. As far as the ageing of the population is concerned, pension facilities will burden considerably the government. For example, retired individuals profit from health insurance and other benefits that the government offers. Therefore, with the improvement in the health system, their life expectancies will increase resulting in more and more costs. Another drawback is the low rates of workforce led by the process of ageing. In other words, the elderly cannot provide the community with efficient human resources. Thus, plenty of companies might experience a lacking workforce. To tackle these problems, there are several suggestions. One solution is that the authorities apply specific laws on letting some old patients decide on their life continuity. For instance, this could be applied to lethal diseases such as cancer or dementia. Decision-making and opting to live or not are parts of human rights and must be seen by healthcare providers and activists. As for human resources, employers are advised to consider potential young employees for in-service training. As a result, this active group would replace the old workforce gradually and efficiently. However, new employment can cause additional expenses for the government. To sum up, today’s development, in curing diseases can bring plenty of consequences to society. I reckon that there should be significant awareness and readiness to cope with the mentioned situation in the future.