Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

The prevalence of high sugar content in manufactured food has raised concerns about its deleterious impact on public health. Therefore, some propose an increase in the prices of sugary products as a strategy to encourage to consume less quantities of sugar. However, I completely disagree with the prompt as it may not really reduce its consumption. To begin with, the addictive nature of sugar makes it challenging for people to reduce and cut down on the consumption of these products even when there are higher prices. According to research studies, it is difficult to resist the urge to consume sugary products, because after a long period of consumption, the brain function has been altered and is accustomed to the reactions generated by carbohydrate consumption, therefore, it is constantly begging for a dose of sugar. Consequently, people ’s bodies need to satisfy this craving, even if it means cutting back on other essential expenses. Thus, a price increase may not be a strong obstacle for those who already rely on sugar products. Moreover, increasing the price of sugary products may affect low-income people. As the diet of people with limited financial resources is merely based on products with a high content of sugar, as prices rise, people might struggle to afford healthier alternatives or maintain their current dietary habits. This can lead to a situation where people from disadvantaged backgrounds are more likely to continue consuming sugary products despite their value increase, even generating the need to find sugary alternatives with lower nutritional quality but with affordable prices, exacerbating and creating more health problems. In conclusion, increasing the price of sugary products to address the health concerns related to sugary consumption may not be the most suitable approach. The addictive nature of sugar and its potential impact on low-income individuals could limit the effectiveness of such a measure.