Everybody should donate a fixed amount of their income to support charity.’ How far do you share this viewpoint?

There seems to be an ongoing controversy over whether a donation should be mandatory or voluntary decision. Personally, I hold the view that this should be dependent upon an individual’s free will and moral value rather than a legal obligation. Firstly, donating a fixed amount of their salary for social welfare can be impractical and over-demanding for most people, as the level of their incomes may be variable owing to different working conditions and areas of expertise. It should be emphasized that while some may be more than willing to participate in charitable giving due to prosperous social status, others from less affluent backgrounds may find it unaffordable. This problem is especially true for people actively paying off student loans or other debts for whom additional charges for charity purposes may further exacerbate their financial burden. A second drawback is a fact that tax money, of which a specific fraction is spent on the social welfare services, is automatically deducted from the employee’s monthly salary in many countries. This means that a working-class member has been contributing continuously to the well-being of the underprivileged, even without offering additional donations. Despite these factors, admittedly, there are some notable benefits of obligatory donations, especially the augmented amounts of resources to support social services, health care, and education. However, it seems that the donation offerings should be well encouraged as more of a moral obligation for people with affordable income rather than as a legalized duty for everyone. To conclude, a decision to donate should primarily be derived from a person’s free will rather than a mandatory order from the government due to several financial and social factors. Moreover, the charitable donation should be further encouraged as a positive moral principle.