Some people think that it is more imprtant to spend money on roads and motorwawys than on public transport system such as railways and trams. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, many people have argued that investing in infrastructure is essential rather than the system of public transport. The author of this essay completely disagrees with this statement due to the fact that it is excessive and public transport can have many cultural values. To begin with, it should be acknowledged that there is an enormous amount of money spent on roads, and they have brought many positive results. For example, there are more highways than there used to be, which reduces a significant amount of time for transportation, leading to a higher living standard since people can have more time for working and studying, which results in promtion and a higher income. In contrast, public transport like trains and trams is being ignored, and this predicament will cause deterioration in these systems. For instance, there was an electric tram system within Ha Noi in the past, and now it disappears, or if you want to go to Ha Noi from Ho Chi Minh city, you will have to sit on the train for nearly two days, and this system is not united, which means you have to change your train many times. As a result, it is time-consuming, and it will discourage people from using public transport, which is one of the main reasons for traffic jams as well as pollution. To sum up, it will be wasteful and unnecessary to keep spending money on roads and motorways, as these systems are brilliant while the others are horrible, and they can have more practically positive effects on the environment. Another point that needs to be considered is that these public systems can have mental effects on the residents. The electric tram system in Hanoi, as an example, not only provided an effective means of transport but also played a vital role in the childhood of Vietnamese people and well as a prevailing topic for writers and poets during that time. Until now, a large number of people still wish that the government would rebuild this public transport system in the same way as many Western countries have done. For these reasons, should the government spend its money on renovating public transport systems, the happiness rate will rise dramatically because residents will see parts of their childhood revived and appreciated by younger generations. In conclusion, this writer supports the statement that the government should focus on public transport and its system for a better future for mankind, both physically and mentally. This essay has enough pieces of evidence to prove the writer's point of view.