Some people think that they have rights to use as much fresh water as they want. Others believe that the use of fresh water should be tightly controlled by the government as it is a limited resource. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Water plays an indispensable role in our lives. Some people think that they can drink fresh water to their heart’s content, while others believe that the government should control the consumption of limited fresh water strictly. This essay will discuss both views and explain the reason why I believe the government should limit the use of fresh water. To start with, if people keep using up fresh water without control, the world will become a disaster for two reasons. Firstly, the problem of desertification will be aggravated with the lack of water, which will lead to the loss of trees and cause the amount of greenhouse gases being released in the air increased significantly, posing a threat to human lives. Secondly, it will be difficult for children to consume such as fiber and calcium due to the fact that these can only be digested when they are dissolved in water. As a result,the authorities concerned should find some methods to control the use of fresh water in order to prevent it from being exhausted. For example, they can enact the laws to impose a heavy tax on factories which are using water excessively and raise the utility bills if households exceed the limitations of water use. In addition, the officials can raise the public awareness of the importance of water storage, and make this a core lesson on the school curriculum so that children can develop a good habit of using fresh water in a reasonable way. Lastly, people can reuse the fresh water such as recycling the water to flush the toilet which is originally being used to do the laundry. In conclusion, the government should regulate the consumption of water instead of depleting fresh water.