Every country should have a free health service, even if this means that the latest medical treatments may not be available through the service because they are too expensive. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is often argued that medical treatments and diagnoses should be made free of cost in all countries. I partially disagree with this opinion and believe that offering free health provisions may not always serve the best interest of the population. Firstly, providing free medical services will facilitate easier access to health assistance. In other words, people take unprescribed medicines at home in order to avoid the hospital charges a visit to the doctor may incur. Moreover, everyone, irrespective of their financial background will be able to access quality and unbiased medical treatment. For instance, In India, many hospitals refuse to analyse and treat a patient unless a specified fee is paid first. While I believe it is fair for the latest or advanced treatments to be priced, denying basic patient care may cause harm, or in severe cases, even death of the patient. On the other hand, offering no-cost services may result in people consistently making unhealthy life choices taking the provision of free health services for granted. Furthermore, offering complementary medical services can lead to overcrowding in healthcare facilities which may overwhelm the doctors and staff. For instance, a local hospital had recently announced free diagnoses and treatment for COVID-19 patients. The hallway of the hospital was filled with people experiencing mild symptoms to patients needing critical care. The facility had reached the brink of a stampede. To conclude, while it remains undisputed that the life of loved ones is priceless and everyone should have access to basic healthcare, if not the latest treatments, I strongly opine that the government should take into account the demerits of this facility and its long-term impact on people.