Some people think government should tax unhealthy food to encourage people to begin to eat more healthy foods. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Obesity due to unhealthy eating habits is a major concern for any country. Therefore, it is suggested by many that a tax collection system on such items shall be levied which in turn will motivate people to consume more nutritious food instead. However, I do not concur with this statement and the reasons for my disagreement will be explained further in the below paragraphs. Choosing what to eat is strictly a personal choice. And most people choose taste over health. Even though the government, in any form, starts collecting tax say by adding more GST to snacks or increasing service charges in the fast- food restaurants, the majority of the population will agree to spend more on their favourite foods. For instance, recently in India, the new budget proposal confirmed that eating at a hotel will become costlier but still there was no decline in their customers. Hence, it could be said that no matter what, people are always ready to pay the price to satiate their cravings and so controlling their eating patterns by tax collection will be a failed attempt. On the other hand, there are some economical concerns for the government. Taxation on food like street food or local delicacies will inadvertently impact the tourism industry. Not only the locals but also the tourists will face difficulty opting for healthy food. For example, a person visiting Canada will prefer poutine rather than a cup of boiled broccoli. This will reduce the number of tourists and consequently the inflow of foreign currency. Thus, to control the consumption of fatty food, applying taxes on them is not a good financial decision. All in all, a tax on food is not an appropriate solution to combat the unhealthy eating habits of the population and the government should come up with other ideas to control this.