Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, the question of whether punishing strictly for offences are the key to decreasing accidents in traffic or tackling more measures to improve road safety has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although the idea of imposing penalties for people who offences traffic law seems to be an attractive choice, applying more solutions in order to make roadway safety better supposes to bring further advantages. There are some reasons why forcing strict punishments helps to encourage persons to drive more safely. First, since penalties for dangerous people who travel can act as a deterrent, they tend to avoid repeating the same offence. Second, there are various types of driving penalties such as small fines, licence suspension, driver awareness courses, and even prison sentences so the aim of these punishments is to show dangerous operators that their actions have negative consequences. As a result, we would hope that citizens who drive a vehicle become more disciplined and alert they follow the rules more carefully. However, I may argue that safe driving can be promoted in several different ways that do not punish drivers. First, it is vitally important to educate persons properly before they start to drive or it can be done in schools or even as part of an extended or more difficult driving test. Second, there are more attention could be paid to safe road design. For example, signs can be used to warn people, speed bumps and street bends can be added to calm vehicles, and speed cameras can help to deter persons from driving too quickly. Finally, the governments or local councils could reduce road accidents by investing in better public transport. This means that fewer individuals would need to travel by car. In conclusion, I advocate that imposing effectively measures without discipline should make traffic safety better. Considering all the pros and the cons they will make the best decisions for not only the authorities but also for everyone now.