social media is becoming increasingly popular among all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think that the advantage of social media outweight the disadvange?

Recently, the debate on whether the benefits of social media outweigh its costs has been heated. Some people argue that people can build up relationships with people around the world easier while others are worried that their personal information may be leaked. As far as I am concerned, social media sites bring more good than harm as people can choose whether they want to expose their personal information to the public. To begin with, internet users can make friends with others who have the same interest as theirs on apps like Instagram and Facebook. As some elderly may only be able to talk to their neighbour in reality, using different media sites allows them to chat with more people around the world despite their ages. For example, the elderly can share their baking experiences with some teenagers who are learning to bake. Therefore, social media help people to open their minds and communicate in a more convenient way. However, it is undeniable that our privacy may be at risk when we are sharing too much about ourselves on the internet. It seems like the more we use social media, the more we would want to share about ourselves. For instance, we can see some vloggers are doing room tours on their youtube channels which can leak the location of their house. In this way, our safety may not be ensured since users can search for our background and personal information easily on the internet. To conclude, although we need to pay extra attention to our personal information while using social media, the experiences of making friends and building up new relationships should be able to outweigh the risk. As long as we have the sense to protect our privacy, it should not be a big concern when we are browsing the internet.