Some people believe the aim of a university education is to help graduates get better jobs. Others believe there are much wider benefits of a university education for both individuals and society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People argue about the purpose of a college education as some feel it is only to ensure graduates get good jobs, while others think it’s beneficial to society and the individual. Tertiary education may be deemed advantageous to students and society, but, for me, the aim of such learning is to improve one’s chances of a high-paying job. people think that university education benefits society and individuals because they get professional workers and are respected for it. The world is dependent on doctors, engineers, and lawyers and all of them are university graduates. Their education provides necessary services that ensure not only our survival, but our continued development as well. College degree holders are also respected more in society. In fact, even though farmers are more important than doctors, people regard medical doctors and honour them more because of their degrees. However, I have many reasons to believe that a university education is for employment purposes only. Many companies prefer to hire diploma holders not only for their skills, but more for the prestige they add to the business. In fact, most companies require applicants to be university graduates as it improves their overall image. The cost of living is also a concern, and this forces parents to push children to prioritize earning money over any other goal, which includes a long and fruitful career. Universities even use ties they have with big corporations as a tool to get more enrollees, further cementing the idea that college is basically an avenue for work. In conclusion, employment in good companies after graduation is the true purpose of going to college, even though, for some, the benefits go beyond employment as the world gains professional services and the individual earns respect.