Some feel that cities shold be designed to be beautiful while others feel their functionality is more important. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Modern infrastructures have been a tourist magnet in recent times. This has led some people to believe that cities should be designed to look beautiful while others believe their functionality is more important. In my opinion, the latter is more imperative as it reaps more benefits. Beautiful cities have always been the most popular choice among tourists. They have become magnificent due to the influence of contemporary architecture on buildings, as they are designed and built like a showpiece that attracts people for their visual and immersive appearance. To illustrate, the city of Dubai in recent times has become a popular tourist place due to its state of the art infrastructure. However, building such cities involves an exorbitant cost, and in this process some basic services like roads, and transportation may be overlooked which can pose problems in the future. On the contrary, I am in the opinion of a city with more functionality as it sets the backbone for the economy. A well functional town has good transportation, housing, facilities, drainage and other facilities that are needed in an efficient town. Construction of these also requires a great deal of money, however, these provide a better return on investment in the future than building beautiful cities with no proper services. Furthermore, functional towns are more attractive options for businesses and companies to run efficiently and boost the economy which later can help create beautiful cities. To conclude, beautiful cities are well appreciated provided that it already has good functionality and the latter cannot be ignored to cater for the former as it may harm the economy as a whole.